Bar Review: Lola Lo – Deansgate Locks, Manchester

Those who follow me on Twitter will know I have recently moved into a new flat in the City Centre. I’m usually super busy running around the city going to events and cocktail competitions but the last few weeks have been really quiet. Typical considering I am a lot closer to everything now! So when a friend invited me to the launch of Lola Lo on Deansgate Locks I jumped at the chance. My flat is opposite and I am usually not a fan of the area. The only bar I would normally frequent here is Lock 91 so I was apprehensive yet excited to see if I could find a new local haunt.

lola lo 6

Lola Lo is brought to us by Eclectic Bars who have many branches of the bar up and down the country. They have taken up residence in, what used to be, Pitcher and Piano in the arches to give us something different in between the samey club type bars of the Locks. Purely for you, my readers, I popped in to try some of their cocktails:

lola lo 5

I was told I simply had to try the Blue Bounty and who was I to argue? Served up in tiki pots this shaken combination of Malibu, crème de cacao brown, coconut cream, milk and vanilla syrup. Sweet, creamy and coconutty… not something everyone will enjoy but I am a fan.

lola lo 4

This delightful little chap is the Puffa Fish! He is a sharer stuffed with Appleton VX rum, crème de peche, pineapple and lime juice. He packs a punch but is a tasty one with just enough sweetness from the juices to cut through his strength.

lola lo 3

Up next was my favourite, the Good Time Girl… how cute is she? Zubrowka vodka, apple juice, peach and passionfruit puree topped with champagne and an edible flower fashioned in her hair. Sweet and fruity but with a dry side she reminded me of myself! Lovely and my favourite of the evening. And I love the tiki pot this one is served in so much, I need to find me one!

lola lo 1 lola lo 2

I ended my night with a passion fruit bellini (purely champagne and passion fruit puree) and a mini burger, yes they serve food as well! This was all I managed to snaffle from the canapés but the burger was juicy with a tangy burger sauce. I’ll be back to work my way through the rest of the cocktail menu and to try more food soon. This is tiki heaven in a huge venue with Hawaii style girls with flowers in their hair serving and gents sporting flowery shirts behind the bar to shake up a storm. What are you waiting for? This weekend is their opening and they are eager to show you they are not a regular Locks type of bar… call in and see for yourself.

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think! I always reply xx